The BCCI has announced annual player contracts for the Indian women’s team for the 2022-23 season.

The BCCI has announced annual player contracts for the Indian women’s team for the 2022-23 season. The total number of players reduced from 19 to 17.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has released the Indian women’s team’s annual player retainership. On Thursday, April 27, the governing body of cricket released the yearly player contracts for the 2022-23 season.

Indian skipper Harmanpreet Kaur, who recently guided Mumbai Indians to the first Women’s Premier League title, has retained her place in Grade A, as has top opener Smriti Mandhana, while outstanding all-rounder Deepti Sharma has been promoted from Grade B. The BCCI has not hand an annual contract to veteran Indian spinner Poonam Yadav. Who place in Grade A last time around, since the entire list has been reduce from 19 to 17 players.

Richa Ghosh, a young dashing wicket-keeper batter, has also made the jump to Grade B in the freshly announced player contracts. Meanwhile, Jemimah Rodrigues, Shafali Varma, and Rajeshwari Gayekwad all kept their grades.

Also Visit: Virat Kohli criticizes RCB teammates following KKR’s defeat in the IPL 2023.

Annual player contracts in full

Grade A – Harmanpreet Kaur,Smriti Mandhana, Deepti Sharma

B – Renuka Thakur, Jemimah Rodrigues, Shafali Verma, Richa Ghosh, Rajeshwari Gayakwad

C – Meghna Singh, Devika Vaidya, Sabbineni Meghana, Anjali Sarvani, Pooja Vastrakar, Sneh Rana, Radha Yadav, Harleen Deol, Yastika Bhatia

It is worth noting that the BCCI made the admirable decision to introduce equal pay for the Indian women’s squad last year in an attempt to bridge the pay gap between female and male cricketers. While female cricketers’ match payments have increased dramatically, their annual retainer has remained same.

The highest group, Grade A, receives INR 50 lakh. Meanwhile, Grade B and Grade C are worth INR 30 lakh and INR 10 lakh, respectively, and are comparable to the previous annual contracts for the women’s team.

Also Read: Varun Chakravarthy dedicates his match-winning effort  to his newborn kid and wife

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *