Following Virat Kohli’s Controversial Dismissal Against MI, RCB will use the MCC LBW Law in the IPL 2022.
On Saturday, Royal Challengers Bangalore defeated Mumbai Indians by seven wickets, but the focus on Virat Kohli, who walk back in rage after being adjudge leg-before-wicket. The right-handed batter appeared to be on his way to a half-century, but he fell two runs short. Dewald Brevis took Kohli’s wicket, and after being adjudged out by the third umpire, Kohli vented his rage, slamming the bat on the ground as he walk off the field. The incident occurr during the 19th over of the RCB innings, when Kohli was declare out by the on-field official.
Kohli decided to reconsider his decision, and it appeared that the ball made contact with both the bat and the pad at the same time. However, the third umpire ruled that the evidence was inconclusive and upheld the on-field decision.
The MCC law regarding LBWs was shared by RCB a day after the match against Mumbai Indians, which states: “If the ball makes contact with the striker’s person and bat simultaneously, this shall be considered as the ball having first touched the bat.”
After Virat Kohli’s Controversial Dismissal Against MI, RCB use the MCC LBW Law in the IPL 2022
“We were looking through the MCC Laws of Cricket for LBW decisions when we came across this. Regrettably, Virat Kohli had to walk back disappointed after a brilliant knock “RCB stated in a tweet.
We were looking through the MCC Laws of Cricket for LBW decisions when we came across this.
— Royal Challengers Bangalore (@RCBTweets) April 10, 2022
Anuj Rawat shone with the bat, scoring 66 runs off 47 balls to help RCB win by seven wickets over the Mumbai Indians.
Earlier, Suryakumar Yadav’s 37-ball 68 helped Mumbai Indians post 151 for six in 20 overs.
The Royal Challengers Bangalore are third in the points table, while the Mumbai Indians are ninth.