Dean Elgar overcomes a tight call, despite Steve Smith’s great slip effort.

Dean Elgar overcomes a tight call, despite Steve Smith’s great slip effort. Dean Elgar got only 15 runs and bowl out later in the day by Josh Hazlewood.

Proteas skipper Dean Elgar never looked settled on Day 4 of the third Test at the Sydney Cricket Ground. As Australia pacers were all over the opener from the outset. Speedster Josh Hazlewood test him in the middle and ultimately beat him with an edge on the final ball of his second over. Steve Smith in the slips made a great catch but was not persuaded. So the on-field umpires sent the judgment to the third umpire with a gentle ‘not-out’ signal.

The audience erupt as the first replay air on the SCG’s huge screens, revealing that Smith had his hands beneath the ball. However, further replays reveal that the 33-year-hand old’s subsequently roll back, and the ball ultimately struck the ground, much to the chagrin of the stadium’s spectators.

“The ball has not bounced before it’s got to him; it’s gone into his hands on the full. And now the third umpire must make a decision… does the ball then fall down onto the ground and up? “It’s very, very difficult to discern, even from the viewpoint that we have,” Ricky Ponting, a member of the commentary team, remarked on-air.

Also Visit: Delhi Capitals are likely to approach David Warner for the captaincy.

Simon Taufel, a former umpire, described Richard Kettleborough’s judgement.

Legendary umpire Simon Taufel, who was monitoring the situation, later explained Richard Kettleborough’s judgment. The 51-year-old admitted that it was a difficult decision and that the subtle signal may have had a role in the decision.

“Another difficult one for the third umpire to deal with. You can see how the ball enters the hand and does not touch the ground throughout that procedure, but keep in mind that the ICC has adjusted the soft signal method somewhat. This judgment was totally in the hands of the third umpire, not the on-field umpires, according to Taufel.

Despite being given a chance, Elgar couldn’t take advantage of it. As the 35-year-old was bowled out for 15 by the same bowler.

Also Read: Cameron Green dismisses s claims of IPL 2023  unavailability

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *