Sourav Ganguly confirms that the Asia Cup will be held in the UAE.

Sourav Ganguly confirms that the Asia Cup will be held in the UAE. The Asia Cup is expect to begin on August 27 and run through September 11.

The Asia Cup has move from Sri Lanka to the UAE. According to BCCI President Sourav Ganguly, amid political and economic unrest in the island nation. The Asian Cricket Council and the relevant board had been in discussions about the matter for quite some time. Ganguly confirmed the news following the board’s Apex Council meeting.

Sri Lanka schedule to host the mega event, but the Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) informed the ACC of the country’s conditions and withdrew as hosts. SLC also postponed their Lanka Premier League due to the same reason (LPL). The Asia Cup (T20Is) will be held in the UAE from August 27 to September 11.

“Asia Cup will be held in the UAE because it is the only place where it will not rain,” Ganguly told the media after the Board’s Apex Council meeting in Mumbai, according to NDTV.

Also Visit: Shreyas Iyer is a gifted player, but he needs to work on his defense against short balls: Scott Styris

A few decisions have made regarding India’s domestic cricket schedule.

Several decisions were made at the Apex Council meeting. Following a discussion of several options for the 2022-23 season by the Council, Ganguly announced that a full domestic season will take place in 2022-23. The Duleep Trophy, which is expect to begin on September 8. Being consider by the Board as a possible way to kick off the senior men’s season. The Irani Cup, schedule for October 1-5, is also being considered.

Originally a knockout tournament between five zones, the Duleep Trophy was later reduce to a round-robin competition between three teams, with the top two teams advancing to the final. In the Irani Cup, the current Ranji Trophy champions face the team from the rest of India.

The possibility of hosting the Ranji Trophy, the Vijay Hazare Trophy. The Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy also consider. The Vijay Hazare Trophy (ODI) is expect to start on November 12. While the Mushtaq Ali Trophy (T20) could start on October 11. The Ranji Trophy is expect to begin on December 13, with the knockout rounds beginning on February 1.

One of the formats proposed at the meeting is to divide the Ranji Trophy into four groups of eight Elite teams and one group of six Plate teams. As with previous Group stages, each team would receive a minimum of seven games. Because a team must play a minimum of ten games to win the Ranji Trophy, the competition becomes even more intense. The Board, according to Ganguly, will begin offering a women’s U16 division in the coming season.

Also Read: 1st ODI: India Predicted XI vs West Indies, Who Will be Shikhar Dhawan’s Opening Partner?

Watch Sports Live Streaming For Free at EK Lottery!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.