IPL 2022: MI Capt Rohit Sharma Reveals Opening Partner For Upcoming Season

IPL 2022: MI Capt Rohit Sharma Reveals Opening Partner For Upcoming Season. MI captain Rohit Sharma revealed on Wednesday who will open the batting alongside him in the upcoming edition of the cash-rich league.

The Mumbai Indians (MI) have used a variety of opening combinations over the years. With Rohit Sharma opening the batting alongside South African wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock last season. However, with de Kock gone, MI will have a relatively new opening combination this year. Rohit Sharma, the captain, has finally revealed who will bat alongside him in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022.

Also Read: Gautam Gambhir issues a warning to LSG captain KL Rahul.

IPL 2022: Rohit Sharma Opening Partner

“I’ll open the batting cage. I’ve done it before, so I’m looking forward to starting with Ishan Kishan “Rohit stated during a virtual press conference.

Kishan, who was primarily used as a middle-order batter in the past, now bats at the top of the order on occasion.

When asked about the pair of Rohit-Ishan, head coach Mahela Jayawardene said. “I think Rohit and Ishan is a good combination up top and Ishan is also a wicketkeeper. There are very few who can bat in the top-three.”

When asked about the team’s new bowling attack, Rohit Sharma stated: “Tymal Mills and Jaydev Unadkat are both new to the franchise, but not the game. They’ve been working on it for a while and understand what needs to be done. It’s just that how we communicate to them what they need to do for us as a team will be critical.”

“They have represented various franchises and countries in various roles. That will be a challenge for us, and we are working with these guys on it. We’re trying to make it clear to them what we expect from them and what kind of role they need to play here “He went on to say

The Mumbai Indians retained Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Kieron Pollard, and Suryakumar Yadav ahead of the mega auction.

The IPL 2022 season will begin on March 26, but the Mumbai Indians will play their first match against the Delhi Capitals on March 27.

Mumbai Indians Squad: 

Rohit Sharma (c), Jasprit Bumrah, Kieron Pollard, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Dewald Brevis, Basil Thampi, Murugan Ashwin, Jaydev Unadkat, Mayank Markande, N Tilak Varma, Sanjay Yadav, Jofra Archer, Daniel Sams, Tymal Mills, Tim David, Riley Meredith, Mohd Arshad Khan, Anmolpreet Singh, Ramandeep Singh, Rahul Buddhi, Hrithik Shokeen, Arjun Tendulkar, Aryan Juyal, Fabian Allen.

Also Visit: 3 Debutants Who Could Take Over The IPL 2022

Enjoy Free Subscription of LIVE Sport Matches!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *